Once you’ve given this a read, click here to sign back into SoapBox and try it out!

In this article:

Who has access to "Manage Users"?
How to access “Manage Users”
How to manage your users
Deactivating and activating users
Assigning and un-assigning SoapBox admins

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Who has access to "Manage Users"?

Only SoapBox admins can access this feature. By default, the admin of a SoapBox community is the person who created the SoapBox at their company. Admins can assign and un-assign other admins.

How to access “Manage Users”

Click on your profile image at the top right, and from the dropdown list, select "Manage Users".

How to manage your users

To manage your users, click on the ellipses next to their name in the user list and select either:

  1. Deactivate account/Activate account
  2. Make admin

When searching for a user you can search by name or email address.

Deactivating and Activating Users

Deactivating: 

When a user is deactivated, they will no longer have access to your SoapBox.

If you deactivate a user who is the sole Manager of a Team Meeting or sole Host of a Discussion, you'll be asked to assign a new Manager/Host for that conversation. Just click  "Assign new manager" and enter the name or email address of the person who you'd like to take over the meeting. 

Note: Anyone in your SoapBox can be assigned as the new Manager of a Team meeting or Host of a Discussion. If someone is made the Manager of a Team meeting or the Host of a Discussion they’re not already a part of, they will not get an email invite to join that meeting. 

If you deactivate a user who is not the sole Manager of a Team Meeting or sole Host of a Discussion, here’s how it will affect SoapBox conversations:

One-on-ones
If a user you had a one-on-one with is deactivated, they will be moved to  the"Archived" section of the Sidebar, the next time you log in. 

Team Meetings
If a user in your team is deactivated, they will be removed from the Team members list but all of the items and comments they have added will remain in the meeting.

Discussions
If a user in a Discussion you are a part of is deactivated, they  will be removed from the Discussion members list but all of the items and comments and votes they have added will remain in the Discussion.

Reactivating:

When a user is reactivated, they will be able to access all of the Team Meetings and Discussions they were a part of when they were deactivated. All of their one-on-ones will be stored under “Archived” and they can then restore them if they’d like.

Assigning and Un-assigning SoapBox admins

Only admins are able to give or take away admin status to other users. If you’ve created your SoapBox but you’re not supposed to be the admin of your community, you can give the person who should be the admin, admin status, and then they can go in and remove your admin status.  

Note: There is no limit to the amount of admins that a SoapBox community can have. 

Try it out! Click here to sign back into SoapBox.

Did this answer your question?